Poetry Course

Poetry Course

Book Tickets

Click a time to book tickets


Share This Page

Info

Please be aware that there are no trailers before the performance.

Synopsis

A 10 week twentieth-century poetry course.


The course is aimed at anyone who enjoys reading and discussing poetry, focusing on twentieth-century poetry in English, from England and elsewhere.


Remarkably diverse, especially when set against previous periods, twentieth-century poetry features a collection of innovative voices and approaches to this foundational literary form.


Working chronologically through this thrilling poetic century, we will have the opportunity to hone our reading skills and discuss some familiar and unfamiliar voices, including Rupert Brooke, Edmund Blunden, H.D., Keith Douglas, Margaret Atwood, Carol Ann Duffy, Imtiaz Dharker, Billie Collins, Jackie Kay, among others.


Course dates:


Start time: 10.30am

Finish: 12 noon


Thursday 15th September (first session)

Thursday 22nd September

Thursday 29th September

Thursday 6th October

Thursday 13th October (no session)

Thursday 20th October (no session)

Thursday 27th October (no session)

Thursday 3rd November

Thursday 10th November

Thursday 17th November

Thursday 24th November

Thursday 1st December

Thursday 8th December (last session)


Cost: £70 for 10 weeks


Location: Sheridan Suite/Greenroom, Ilkley Playhouse


Course Tutor:


Dr Robert Hemmings has been teaching, researching, and writing about literature and culture for more than 25 years.  


Robert has taught courses on English language literatures, from Shakespeare to Canadian short stories, and visual cultures at several Canadian universities, the University of Leeds and through the WEA.


He has published a book, articles and chapters on a wide range of topics, including modernism, material culture, nostalgia, trauma, medical humanities, war poetry and children’s literature.


He has a special interest in lifelong learning and so is very pleased to have the opportunity to read and discuss poetry and other cultural texts at the Ilkley Playhouse.